en
EN

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec, born in 1971 and 1976, were born in Quimper, France, and graduated from the Ecole Nationale des Art Décoratifs in Paris and from the Ecole nationale supérieure des Arts in Cergy. The brothers have been working together since 1998 and operate a Paris-based design studio where a team designs furniture, light fixtures, home accessories, jewelry and plans architectural projects.

The brother Bouroullec were discovered by Giulio Cappellini in 1997 at the Milan furniture fair where they presented the project "Disintegrated Kitchen". Cappellini commissioned them with their first big design project. After collaborating with the Galerie Kreo in 2000, the Japanese fashion designer Issey Miyake had them design his showrooms for his new collection "A-Poc". Finally, they met Rolf Fehlbaum, Vitra's manager, and developped the "Joyn" office system, the starting point of an intensive cooperation with Vitra. Since then Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec have been working in collaboration with big brands like Artek, Alessi, Hay, Kvadrat, Kartell or Established & Sons.

The Steelwood collection from 2004, which comprises shelves, armchairs, coat stands and bar stools, is the result of a collaboration with the Italian furniture brand Magis. The collection's armchair won the Compasso d'Oro in 2011. The brothers designed the Piani table lamp, characterised by a reduced shape, and the flexible AIM suspension for Flos. AIM was honoured with an "Honourable Mention" at the "Compasso d'Oro" in 2016. The Bouroullec brothers were also elected "Designer of the Year" and won the iF Design Award (2015), the red dot design award "Best of the Best" and the German Design Award (2012). Some of Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec's designs have been adopted into the permanent collection of the Musée national d'art moderne (centre Pompidou) in Paris and in the Museum of Modern Art in New York.

Photo: ©Alexandre Tabaste

de
DE

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ
Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Ronan und Erwan Bouroullec, Jahrgang 1971 und 1976, wurden beide im französischen Quimper geboren und absolvierten ihr Studium an der École Nationale des Arts Décoratifs in Paris und an der École nationale supérieure des Arts in Cergy. Die Brüder arbeiten seit 1998 zusammen und betreiben in Paris ein Designstudio, das ein mehrköpfiges Team beschäftigt und sich mit der Gestaltung von Möbeln, Leuchten, Wohnaccessoires, Schmuck und mit der Planung von architektonischen Projekten befasst.

1997 wurden die Brüder Bouroullec auf der Mailänder Möbelmesse von Giulio Cappellini entdeckt, als sie dort ihren Entwurf "Disintegrated Kitchen" präsentierten. Cappellini übertrug ihnen ihren ersten großen Designauftrag. Nach einer Zusammenarbeit mit der Galerie Kreo im Jahr 2000 erhielten sie vom japanischen Modedesigner Issey Miyake den Auftrag zur Gestaltung des Showrooms für seine neue Kollektion "A-Poc". Schließlich trafen sie den Chef von Vitra, Rolf Fehlbaum, und entwickelten das Bürosystem "Joyn", was den Anfang einer intensiven Kooperation mit Vitra markierte. Seitdem haben Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec mit großen Marken wie Artek, Alessi, Hay, Kvadrat, Kartell, Ligne Roset, oder Samsung zusammengearbeitet.

Aus der seit 2004 bestehenden Kooperation mit dem italienischen Möbelhersteller Magis resultierte die Steelwood Kollektion, die aus Regal, Armlehnstuhl, Garderobenständer und Barhocker besteht. Der Armlehnstuhl aus der Kollektion gewann 2011 den Compasso d'Oro. Für Flos entwarfen die talentierten Brüder die Piani Tischleuchte, die mit einer reduzierten Formgebung brilliert, sowie die flexiblen AIM Pendelleuchten. AIM wurde 2016 mit einer "Honourable Mention" beim Compasso d'Oro beehrt. Des Weiteren durften sich die Bouroullec Brüder über den Titel "Designer of the Year", den iF Design Award (2015), den Red Dot Product Design Award "Best of the Best" sowie den German Design Award (2012) freuen. Einige Entwürfe von Ronan und Erwan Bouroullec sind Teil der permanenten Kollektion im Musée National d'Art Moderne (Centre Pompidou) in Paris oder im Museum of Modern Art in New York.

Foto: ©Alexandre Tabaste