en
EN

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Dirk Winkel

Dirk Winkel

Dirk Wenkel first studied at the University of the Arts (UdK) in Berlin, before he graduated with a Master Degree in Design Products at the Royal College of Art in London in 2010. He has specialized on light and furniture design and, before opening his own design studio in 2011, worked with various designers and for a number of design brands in Berlin and London. Between 2012 and 2016 he has been teaching construction design at the UdK.

Since he has been operating his own design studio in the Prenzlauer Berg district in Berlin, his works were presented by brands such as Frame, DAMn, icon, Surface and Monocle. They were also exhibited at the VitraHaus and in the Design Museum of London. Dirk Winkel#s works have earned many awards and nominations, such as the Good Design Award and the Swedish Design Award.

His minimalist designs for the Swedish label Wästberg are remarkable. The w164 Alto floor lamp with a cylindrical base and a straight, slender light stem illuminates the ceiling with a strong LED light. Alto also received the Editors'Choice Award 2016. The successful Wästberg w127 Winkel collection with a series of working and reading lights was nominated for the famous Designs of the Year 2013 Award and earned the Good Design Award 2012 as well as a Special Mention at the German Design Award 2015.

de
DE

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Dirk Winkel

Dirk Winkel

Dirk Winkel genoss seine Ausbildung zunächst an der Universität der Künste (UdK) in Berlin und absolvierte anschließend einen Master in Design Products am Royal College of Art in London, den er 2010 erfolgreich abschloss. Leuchten- und Möbeldesign sind seine Spezialgebiete und vor der Eröffnung seines eigenen Designstudios im Sommer 2011 arbeitete er in diesem Bereich für verschiedene Designer und Designmarken in Berlin und London. Von 2012 bis 2016 unterrichtete er Konstruktionsdesign an der UdK.

Seitdem er sein eigenes Studio im Berliner Prenzlauer Berg betreibt, wurden seine Arbeiten von Marken wie Frame, DAMn, icon, Surface oder Monocle präsentiert - außerdem waren sie im VitraHaus oder dem London Design Museum zu sehen. Dirk Winkels Werke durften sich auch über zahlreiche Awards und Nominierungen freuen, darunter der Good Design Award und der Swedish Design Award.

Besonders nennenswert sind seine minimalistischen Leuchtenentwürfe für die schwedische Marke Wästberg. Die w164 Alto Stehleuchte mit einem zylindrischen Sockel und einem geraden, schlanken Leuchtenstab flutet die Decke mit kräftigem LED-Licht. Alto gewann den Editors' Choice Award 2016. Auch die erfolgreiche Wästberg w127 Winkel Kollektion, die aus einer Reihe von Arbeits- und Leseleuchten besteht, wurde beispielsweise für den namhaften Designs of the Year 2013 Award nominiert und erhielt den Good Design Award 2012 sowie eine Special Mention beim German Design Award 2015.