en
EN

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Louis Poulsen AJ Royal

Arne Jacobsen


Thanks to its domed metal shade with ring lamella, the pendant light AJ
Royal by Louis Poulsen provides direct downward as well as indirect lighting.

The pendant lamp AJ Royal by Louis Poulsen is a Danish design classic by Arne Jacobsen. The dome-shaped, arched shade gets its characteristic appearance and a particularly pleasant lighting effect due to the ring-shaped incisions on the top.

AJ Royal directs most of its light downwards, but a small part penetrates upwards through the ring slats and supplements the direct light with diffuse lighting - ideal above dining tables and for illuminating conference rooms or living areas.

Arne Jacobsen designed the lamp originally in 1957 for the SAS Royal Hotel in Copenhagen, which in the meantime was called Radisson Blu and is now called Radisson Collection Hotel, Royal Copenhagen. Jacobsen created the hotel as a Gesamtkunstwerk, from the architecture to the furniture and also the lighting.

Louis Poulsen offers the iconic pendant lamp in several sizes, either for conventional lamps or with permanently installed LEDs. It is made of steel and aluminum, painted in distinctive black or white and equipped with a textile cable. In the LED versions, an acrylic diffuser closes off the shade at the bottom and ensures glare-free, uniform lighting. The smaller version for conventional lamps can optionally be equipped with a diffuser, the larger version, on the other hand, is intended to be hung lower and therefore uses no diffuser.

Design


Arne Jacobsen
Arne Jacobsen

His trailblazing designs continue to shape modern Scandinavian design. The Danish architect and designer created the famous Louis Poulsen AJ lamps.

Louis Poulsen
AJ Royal Kollektion

Arne Jacobsen


Die Pendelleuchten AJ Royal von Louis Poulsen spenden direktes Licht
nach unten mit indirektem Lichtanteil dank des Metallschirms mit Ringlamellen.

Die Pendeleuchte AJ Royal von Louis Poulsen ist ein dänischer Designklassiker von Arne Jacobsen. Der kuppelförmig gewölbte Schirm erhält durch ringförmige Einschnitte auf seiner Oberseite sein charakteristisches Aussehen und eine besonders angenehme Lichtwirkung.

AJ Royal lenkt den Großteil ihres Lichts nach unten, ein kleiner Teil dringt jedoch durch die Ringlamellen nach oben und ergänzt das Direktlicht mit einer diffusen Beleuchtung - ideal über Esstischen und zur Beleuchtung von Konferenzräumen oder Wohnbereichen.

Entworfen wurde AJ Royal von Arne Jacobsen, ursprünglich 1957 für das SAS Royal Hotel in Kopenhagen, das zwischenzeitlich den Namen Radisson Blu trug und heute Radisson Collection Hotel, Royal Copenhagen heißt. Jacobsen entwarf das Hotel als Gesamtkunstwerk, von der Architektur bis hin zum Mobiliar und eben auch der Beleuchtung.

Louis Poulsen bietet die ikonische Pendelleuchte in mehreren Größen, wahlweise für herkömmliche Leuchtmittel oder mit fest verbauten LEDs. Sie wird aus Stahl und Aluminium gefertigt, in markantem Schwarz oder Weiß lackiert und mit einem Textilkabel ausgestattet. Bei den LED-Versionen schließt ein Acryldiffusor den Schirm unten ab und sorgt für eine blendfreie, gleichmäßige Beleuchtung. Die kleinere Version für herkömmliche Leuchtmittel kann optional mit einem Diffusor ausgestattet werden, die größere Version hingegen ist dafür gedacht, tiefer aufgehängt zu werden und verzichtet auf einen Diffusor.