Verner Panton

Verner Panton

The architect and designer Verner Panton was born in 1926 near the Danish town of Assen. After completing his military service, he went to the Technical Faculty in Odense. He studied architecture at the Royal Academy of Art in Copenhagen from 1947 to 1951. During his studies he explored the psychology of colours and worked in Arne Jacobsen's studio as his assistant. After three years of travels in Europe, Panton opened his own architecture and design studio in 1955. In 1963, he moved to Basel, where he worked for the furniture manufacturer Vitra. From 1984 on, Verner Panton was a teacher at the Hochschule für Gestaltung in Offenbach. He died in Copenhagen in 1998.

Verner Panton's Chair S, created in 1956 for Thonet out of laminated wood, already showcased the formal language of his later, famous plastic chairs. With the Panton Chair produced by Vitra in the 1960s, Verner Panton created a chair entirely made of synthetic material, now considered a milestone in design history. Geometrical shapes were typical for Panton's early style, his later designs gained fluid, dynamic shapes. A characteristic of his designs is the use of primary colours, as seen in his Cone Chair and Cone Stool from 1958. With the curvaceous sculptural armchair Amoebe, Panton created a milestone of 1970's design.

Verpan designed light fixtures for VerPan, &tradition and Louis Poulsen, which reflected the tastes of their times, but are still popular today. He developed VP Globe, a coveted designer classic, in 1969. His Living Tower of 1969 is a vertical sculpture serving as both seating and living space. The Visiona works are thoughtfully designed futuristic rooms with integrated light and sound design. The interior decoration he made for the Spiegel publishing house in Hamburg has been partly preserved.

Photo: Ditte Dalsgaard

de
DE

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Verner Panton

Verner Panton

Der Architekt und Designer Verner Panton wurde am 13. Februar 1926 nahe der dänischen Hafenstadt Assens geboren. Nach der Militärzeit besuchte er die Technische Hochschule in Odense. Von 1947 bis 1951 studierte er Architektur an der Königlichen Akademie der Schönen Künste in Kopenhagen. Während des Studiums beschäftigte er sich mit Farbpsychologie und arbeitete als Assistenz im Designstudio von Arne Jacobsen. Nach einer dreijährigen Europareise eröffnete Panton 1955 ein eigenes Architektur- und Designstudio. 1963 zog er nach Basel und arbeitete für die Möbelmanufaktur Vitra. Ab 1984 lehrte Verner Panton an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Offenbach. Er starb 1998 in Kopenhagen.

Verner Pantons Freischwinger S von 1956 für Thonet, der aus Schichtholz gefertigt wurde, nahm bereits die Formensprache seiner späteren Sitzmöbel aus Kunststoff vorweg. Mit dem Panton Chair, der Mitte der 1960er Jahre von Vitra produziert wurde, schuf Verner Panton einen Stuhl ganz aus Kunststoff, der Designgeschichte schreiben sollte. Typisch für Pantons Stil sind ursprünglich geometrische Formen, später kommen fließende, dynamische Designs hinzu. Charakteristisch für seine Kreationen ist auch die Verwendung von Primärfarben, die bereits seinen Cone Chair und Cone Stool von 1958 kennzeichneten. Mit dem schwungvollen skulpturalen Sessel Amöbe setzt Panton endgültig einen Meilenstein für das Design der 1970er Jahre.

Für Verpan, &tradition und Louis Poulsen schuf Verner Panton Leuchten, die den damaligen Zeitgeschmack widerspiegelten, die aber nach wie vor geschätzt und hergestellt werden. VP Globe, einen begehrten Klassiker, entwickelte er 1969. Sein Living Tower von 1969 ist eine vertikal unterteilte Wohn- und Sitz-Skulptur. Die Visiona-Arbeiten sind komplett durchgestaltete, futuristisch anmutende Räume mit integriertem Licht- und Sounddesign. Seine Innenraumgestaltung für das Spiegel-Verlagshaus in Hamburg ist teilweise heute noch erhalten.

Foto: Ditte Dalsgaard

Alle Kollektionen von Verner Panton