en
EN

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Philippe Starck

Philippe Starck

The name Philippe Starck is well-known to the general public. The multi-talented artist created designs for toothbrushes, kitchen ware, furniture, accessories for the bathroom, technical devices, cars, wind turbines, yachts and hotels.

Starck was born in Paris in 1949 and studied there at the Ecole Camondo, a renowned private school for design and architecture. In 1965 he won a competition for the furniture design. In 1968 he founded a company specializing in the manufacture of inflatable objects, which attracted the attention of the public. In 1971 he was Art Director at Pierre Cardin and designed the interiors for diverse night clubs. In 1980 he founded the company Starck Products. In 1982 he decorated François Mitterand's private apartments at the Elysée Palast. Philippe Starck often collaborates with famous brands like Alessi, Driade and Flos.

Philippe Starck feels committed to the principle of reduction, the ethic of omission. He avoids any unnecessary ornament. His designs are not solely functional. His furnishing concepts and objects aim at making people's lives better and awaking their emotions. Simple and one-of-a-kind at the same time, they have to meet ethical and environment-friendly demands. His concept of "democratic design" implies that accurately designed products should be produced industrially to be affordable for anyone.

The famous citrus-squeezer Starck designed for Alessi in 1990 possesses a marked sculptural character with a characteristic swung shape. Philippe Starck's chair Louis Ghost by Kartell, inspired by the Louis Quinze style is transparent, durable and stackable. Light and elegant, it is reminiscent of the French traditional furniture under the French kings. Another new and original interpretation is the light collection Gun by Philippe Starck for the Italian manufacturer Flos, which combines sculptural weapon replicas with traditional light shades.

Discover all collections designed by Philippe Starck

Alle angezeigten Preise verstehen sich inklusive 19% Mwst bei Lieferung nach Deutschland zzgl. evtl. anfallende Versandkosten.
de
DE

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ
Philippe Starck

Philippe Starck

Philippe Starck ist ein Name, der nicht nur dem designaffinen Publikum geläufig ist. Der vielseitige Designer schuf Entwürfe für Zahnbürsten, Küchengeschirr, Möbel, Badeinrichtungen, technische Geräte, Fahrzeuge, Windturbinen, Yachten und Hotels.

Starck wurde 1949 in Paris geboren und studierte dort an der École Camondo, einer privaten Hochschule für Design und Architektur. Bereits 1965 gewann er einen Möbelwettbewerb. 1968 gründete er eine Firma für aufblasbare Objekte, die ihm erste Aufmerksamkeit bescherte. 1971 wurde er Art Director bei Pierre Cardin und schuf die Ausstattung für verschiedene Nachtclubs. Im Jahr 1980 gründete er die Firma Starck Products. 1982 gestaltete er die Privaträume von François Mitterand im Élysée-Palast. Darüber hinaus arbeitet Philippe Starck oft mit bekannten Labels wie Alessi, Driade und Flos zusammen.

Philippe Starck fühlt sich dem Prinzip der Reduktion, der Ethik des Weglassens, verpflichtet. Er vermeidet jedes unnötige Dekor. Dennoch können seine Designs nicht dem Funktionalismus zugerechnet werden. Seine Gestaltungen und Objekte haben den Anspruch, das Leben der Menschen zu verbessern und sie emotional anzusprechen. Einfach und originell zugleich, sollen sie auch ethischen und ökologischen Ansprüchen genügen. Sein Konzept des "demokratischen Designs" besagt, dass sorgfältig gestaltete Produkte auch industriell herstellbar sein sollten, damit sie für den Durchschnittsbürger bezahlbar bleiben.

Starcks berühmte Zitronenpresse, 1990 für Alessi entworfen, besitzt einen ausgeprägt skulpturalen Charakter mit schwungvoller Gestaltung. Philippe Starcks Stuhl Louis Ghost von Kartell, vom Louis-Quinze-Stil inspiriert, ist transparent, haltbar und stapelbar. Leicht und elegant erinnert er mit einem Augenzwinkern an die feudale Wohnkultur. Eine weitere originelle Neuinterpretation ist Philippe Starcks Kollektion Gun für die italienische Marke Flos, die Schusswaffen-Skulpturen mit Leuchtenschirmen kombiniert.