en
EN

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Michele de Lucchi

Michele de Lucchi

Michele de Lucchi has worked as an architect and designer since the 1970s. As a co-founder of the Memphis Group and advocate of "radical design", he has exerted a huge influence on the history of Italian and international design. Since the eighties, de Lucchi has worked as a product designer for companies producing designer lights and furniture, such as Artemide, FontanaArte and Kartell. One of his most successful creations is the Tolomeo table lamp, he designed with Giancarlo Fassina for Artemide.

De Lucchi was born in Ferrara in 1951 and studied architecture in Florence. Already while studying, he turned to "radical design" and founded the group Cavart with like-minded people. In the late 1970s he worked for the Studio Alchimia, a group opposing mass production and purely functional objects. Together with Ettore Sottsass, who was also active at the Studio Alchimia, de Lucchi created the Memphis Group in 1981. It followed similar principles, and some of its coloured, unconventionally shaped objects are now iconic.

As a product designer, Michele de Lucchi has worked for Olivetti, Bodum, FontanaArte, Artemide and others. He has been awarded numerous significant design prizes like the IF Design Award, the Design Plus and the Compasso d'Oro, for his work. His works are exhibited in major international museum like the Centre Pompidou in Paris and in the Neues Museum in Berlin.

De Lucchi's wide-ranging work includes buildings, pieces of furniture and household utensils of every kind. Michele de Lucchi has designed remarkable lights for Artemide and FontanaArte, especially the Artemide Tolomeo desk-light he developed with Giancarlo Fassina in 1987. Today it is one of the most popular desk-lights ever and one of the designer's favourites. Michele de Lucchi's lights and pieces of furniture are functional and feature aesthetical shapes. High-quality materials and a well-thought-through shaps turn his creations into timeless designer classics.

Picture: © Ph.GiovanniGastel

Discover all collections designed by Michele de Lucchi

de
DE

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Michele de Lucchi

Michele de Lucchi

Michele de Lucchi ist seit den 1970er Jahren als Architekt und Designer tätig. Als Mitbegründer der Memphis-Gruppe und Vertreter des "radikalen Designs" hatte er maßgeblichen Einfluss auf die italienische und internationale Designgeschichte. Seit den 1980ern arbeitet de Lucchi für internationale Firmen als Produktdesigner, darunter Unternehmen für Designleuchten und Möbel wie Artemide, FontanaArte, Olivetti, Bodum und Kartell. Zu seinen erfolgreichsten Arbeiten gehört die Schreibtischleuchte Tolomeo, welche er gemeinsam mit Giancarlo Fassina für Artemide entwarf.

De Lucchi wurde 1951 in Ferrara geboren und studierte in Florenz Architektur. Bereits während seines Studiums wandte er sich dem "radikalen Design" zu und gründete mit Gleichgesinnten die Gruppe Cavart. In den späten 1970ern war er für das Studio Alchimia tätig, eine Gruppe, die sich gegen Massenproduktion und rein funktionale Objekte wandte. Zusammen mit Ettore Sottsass, der ebenfalls Teil von Studio Alchimia war, gründete de Lucchi 1981 die Memphis-Gruppe, die einer ähnlichen Philosophie folgte und deren farbenfrohen, unkonventionell geformten Produkte heute oftmals den Status von Ikonen besitzen.

Für seine Arbeiten wurde er mit zahlreichen wichtigen Designpreisen ausgezeichnet, unter anderem dem IF Design Award, dem Design Plus und dem Compasso d'Oro. Seine Werke sind in wichtigen Museen auf der ganzen Welt ausgestellt, zum Beispiel im Centre Pompidou in Paris und im Neuen Museum Berlin.

Michele de Lucchis Lampen und Möbel zeichnen sich durch Funktionalität und ästhetische Formgebung aus. Hochwertige Materialien und eine durchdachte Gestaltung machen seine Werke zu zeitlosen Klassikern.

Foto: © Ph.GiovanniGastel

Alle Kollektionen von Michele de Lucchi