Matteo Thun

Matteo Thun

Matteo Thun was born in 1952 in Bolzano, South Tyrol, Italy. Matteo Thun is an architect and designer born into the von Thun and Hohenstein family of entrepreneurs. He first studied at the Salzburg International Summer Academy of Fine Arts under the direction of Oskar Kokoschka. He pursued his studies in Florence where he obtained his degree in architecture under Adolfo Natalini.

Matteo Thun moved to Milan in 1975 and, together with Ettore Sottsass, founded the Memphis Group in 1981. It exerted a strong influence on design during the eighties. The Academy of applied Arts in Vienna appointed him to the position of Professor for product design and ceramics. Two years later and shortly after he left the Memphis Group, in 1984, Matteo Thun founded his own studio in Milan. He was active as Creative Director for Swatch between 1990 and 1993. During his career Matteo Thun has earned many awards and three times the ADICompasso d'Oro for outstanding design. Matteo Thun is also a member of the Royal Association of British Architects. His name appeared for the first time at the Interior Hall of Fame in New York in 2004.

According to Matteo Thun, product design and architecture are organically linked. A specific architecture creates the necessity to decorate the interior with objects, which in turn require a specific design. It is the same for his "Ecotektur" concept which connects architecture and ecology. Matteo Thun follows the sustainability principle for which numerical aspects of energy efficiency and the function of buildings and objects play a major role. He aims to provide a large amount of functionality, while using as little material as possible.

de
DE

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ
Matteo Thun

Matteo Thun

Zur Welt kam Matteo Thun in Südtirol, genauer in Bozen im Jahr 1952. Matteo Thun ist Architekt sowie Designer und stammt aus der Unternehmerfamilie von Thun und Hohenstein. Er studierte zunächst an der Salzburger Sommerakademie bei Oskar Kokoschka. In Florenz setzte er sein Studium fort, wo er 1975 auch seinen Abschluss im Fach Architektur bei Adolfo Natalini machte.

1975 zog Matteo Thun nach Mailand, wo er 1981 gemeinsam mit Ettore Sottsass die Gruppe Memphis gründete. Diese wurde prägend für das Design der 1980er Jahre. 1982 ernannte die Akademie für Angewandte Künste in Wien Matteo Thun zum Professor für Produktdesign und Keramik. Zwei Jahre später, 1984, gründete Matteo Thun in Mailand sein eigenes Studio, kurz nachdem er die Gruppe Memphis verlassen hatte. In den Jahren zwischen 1990 und 1993 war er als Creative Director für Swatch tätig. Matteo Thun erhielt im Laufe seiner Karriere zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter dreimal den ADI Compasso d’Oro für herausragendes Design. Matteo Thun ist zudem Mitglied der Royal Association of British Architects. 2004 erschien sein Name erstmals in der Interior Hall of Fame in New York.

Für Matteo Thun hängen Produktdesign und Architektur auf organische Weise zusammen: Von einer spezifischen Architektur her entsteht die Notwendigkeit, das Interieur mit Objekten auszustatten, die wiederum eines darauf zugeschnittenen Designs bedürfen. Ähnlich ausgerichtet ist sein Verständnis der „Ecotektur“, einer Verbindung aus Architektur und Ökologie. Dabei folgt Matteo Thun einem umfassenden Begriff von Nachhaltigkeit, bei dem neben numerischen Aspekten der Energieeffizienz auch die Funktion von Gebäuden und Objekten eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Ziel ist ein Höchstmaß an Funktionalität bei möglichst geringem Materialverbrauch.