Jacques Adnet

Jacques Adnet

Jacques Adnet was born in 1900 in the French town of Châtillon-Coligny, went to Auxerre's design school and later studied at the Ecole nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris. Together with his twin brother Jean, Jacques Adnet founded the JJ Adnet design studio. In the 1920s, he was considered to be one of the country's most promising young designers and was invited to art exhibitions such as the "Salon d'automne" and the "Expositions des Arts Décoratifs", where he was awarded prizes for his furniture and accessories. Adnet was one of the first designers to combine metal and glass in structures and decorative surfaces. For Jacques Adnet, function and geometric simplicity were guiding principles with which he further developed the Art Deco style.

At the young age of 28 years, Jacques Adnet was Director of the "La Compagnie des Arts Français (CAF)" which provided him a platform for his modernist furniture combining high-quality wood, chrome-plated metal, leather, parchment and smoked glass. The decorators François Jourdain, Charlotte Perriand and George Jouve worked in his team. During the 1940, Jacques Adnet worked together with the Hermès fashion house, decorated several fashion stores and developed his own luxurious furniture collection. He was entrusted with the decoration of the French president's private rooms at the Elysée Palace and designed the UNESCO's conference room in Paris in the 1950s.

His passion for glass and leather is especially visible in the Adnet Mirror, which is now distributed by the Gubi design label. It is surrounded by an elegant leather frame and symbolizes Jacques Adnet's particular style. The designer and architect died in 1984, yet his furniture and accessories are still very popular because of their timelessness.

Jacques Adnet

Jacques Adnet

Jacques Adnet wurde im Jahr 1900 im französischen Châtillon-Coligny geboren, besuchte die städtische Designschule in Auxerre und studierte später Architektur an der École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris. Gemeinsam mit seinem Zwillingsbruder Jean gründete Jacques Adnet das Designstudio JJ Adnet. In den 1920er Jahren galt er als einer der vielversprechendsten Jungdesginer des Landes und wurde eingeladen, an Kunstausstellungen wie der "Salon d'Automne" oder den "Expositions des Art Décoratifs" mitzuwirken, was ihm zu ersten Auszeichnungen für seine Möbel und Accessoires verhalf. Als einer der ersten Designer kombinierte Adnet Metall und Glas in Struktur und Oberflächendekor. Außerdem waren Funktionalität und geometrische Einfachheit wichtige Prinzipien für Jacques Adnet, mit denen er den Stil des Art Déco weiterentwickelte.

Im jungen Alter von 28 Jahren wurde Jacques Adnet Direktor der "La Compagnie des Arts Francais (CAF)", was ihm als Plattform für seine modernistischen Möbelentwürfe diente, in denen er mit Vorliebe hochwertiges Holz, verchromtes Metall, Leder, Pergament oder Rauchglas verarbeitete. In seinem Team arbeiteten unter anderem die Raumausstatter Francois Jourdain, Charlotte Perriand und Georges Jouve. Während der 1940er Jahren arbeitete Jacques Adnet mit dem Modehaus Hermès zusammen, stattete eine Vielzahl der Modeläden aus und entwickelte sogar eine eigene Möbelkollektion mit dem Luxuslabel. In den 1950er Jahren wurde er unter anderem mit der Ausstattung der Privatwohnräume des französischen Präsidenten im Élysée-Palast betraut und gestaltete den Konferenzraum des UNESCO Hauptquartiers in Paris.

Seine Leidenschaft für Glas und Leder kommt besonders in den heute von der Designmarke Gubi vertriebenen Adnet Spiegel zum Ausdruck, die mit elegantem Leder umrahmt sind und als Sinnbild der besonderen Handschrift von Jacques Adnet gelten. Der Designer und Architekt verstarb 1984, doch seine Möbel und Accessoires sind aufgrund ihrer Zeitlosigkeit noch heute populär.