Carlotta de Bevilacqua

Carlotta de Bevilacqua

She is an architect, a designer, a professor, an entrepreneur and one of the most influential persons in the world of contemporary lighting design. Carlotta de Bevilacqua is the managing director of Danese Milano and the vice director of Artemide. She is married to Artemide's founder Ernesto Gismondi. She has received many awards for her research on lighting design and numerous famous light creations.

Carlotta de Bevilacqua was born in Milan in 1957 and graduated in architecture at the Polytechnic University of Milan in 1983. She has been leading her own design office in the Italian metropolis and implementing projects of interior architecture, architecture, industrial and lighting design since decades. In the early nineties, the Milanese started with designing light fixtures for the Italian labels Artemide and Danese and was very much involved in the development of a new generation of patented LED products.

In 1999, Carlotta de Bevilacqua acquired the traditional manufacture Danese Milano which at this time had lost much of its prestige and has contributed to its renewed success. As the vice manager of Artemide she is also responsible for the strategic, creative direction of the biggest manufacturer of light fixtures in the world. She developed Artemide's philosophy "The Human Light". Since 2001, Carlotta de Bevilacqua has been teaching design at the Polytechnic University in Milan and already worked as a guest lecturer in many Italian and international academic institutions.

Carlotta de Bevilacqua explores every facet of light and how it influences people's psychic and physical well-being with enthousiasm. Her products have been selected for international exhibitions dedicated to contemporary design, such as the Triennale di Milano, the Centre Pompidou in Paris and the Serpentine Gallery in London. The Danese HBM light and the prized Artemide Copernico designed together with Paolo Dell'Elce are two of her trailblazing designs. For the fascinating Copernico light Carlotta de Bevilacqua was awarded the Red Dot Design Award in 2011. For the Empatia lights which feature beautiful blown glass bodies she received the iF Product Design Award in 2014.

Carlotta de Bevilacqua

Carlotta de Bevilacqua

Sie ist Architektin, Designerin, Professorin, Unternehmerin und gehört wohl zu einer der einflussreichsten Persönlichkeiten des zeitgenössischen Leuchtendesigns. Carlotta de Bevilacqua ist Geschäftsführerin von Danese Milano sowie stellvertretende Geschäftsführerin von Artemide. Sie ist mit Artemide Gründer Ernesto Gismondi liiert. Für ihre Forschung im Lichtdesign und ihre zahlreichen bekannten Leuchtenentwürfe wurde sie vielfach geehrt.

Carlotta de Bevilacqua wurde 1957 in Mailand geboren und erwarb 1983 einen Abschluss in Architektur am Polytechnikum Mailand. Seit mehreren Jahrzehnten leitet sie ihr eigenes Designbüro in der italienischen Metropole und realisiert Projekte in den Bereichen Innenarchitektur, Architektur, Industrie- und Leuchtendesign. In den frühen 1990er Jahren begann die Mailänderin mit Leuchtenentwürfen für die italienischen Marken Artemide und Danese und war maßgeblich an der Entwicklung einer neuen Generation von patentierten LED-Produkten beteiligt.

1999 erwarb Carlotta de Bevilacqua den traditionsreichen Hersteller Danese Milano, der zu diesem Zeitpunkt schon einen großen Teil seines einstigen Prestiges eingebüßt hatte, und verhalf ihm zu neuen Erfolgen. Als stellvertretende Geschäftsführerin von Artemide ist sie zudem für die strategische kreative Ausrichtung des weltweit größten Herstellers für Designerleuchten zuständig und entwickelte mitunter die Artemide Philosophie "The Human Light". Seit 2001 ist Carlotta de Bevilacqua als Professorin an der Design Fakultät des Mailänder Polytechnikums tätig und trat bereits an zahlreichen italienischen und internationalen akademischen Einrichtungen als Gastprofessorin auf.

Carlotta de Bevilacqua erforscht mit großem Enthusiasmus alle Facetten des Lichts und wie es das psychische und physische Wohlbefinden des Menschen beeinflusst. Ihre Produkte wurden für einige internationale Ausstellungen zeitgenössischen Designs ausgewählt, darunter die Triennale di Milano, das Centre Pompidou in Paris oder die Serpentine Gallery in London. Die Danese HBM Leuchte oder die preisgekrönte Artemide Copernico in Zusammenarbeit mit Paolo Dell'Elce zählen zu ihren wegweisenden Leuchtendesigns. Für die faszinierende Copernico Leuchte erhielt Carlotta de Bevilacqua 2011 den Red Dot Design Award. Für die Empatia Leuchten, die wunderschöne mundgeblasene Glaskörper besitzen, erhielt die Unternehmerin 2014 den iF Product Design Award.