Carlo Colombo

Carlo Colombo

Carlo Colombo was born in 1967 in Carimate, in the Como region, Italy. After completing his architecture studies at the Polytechnique School of Milan in 1993, he founded his own studio in his home town and started working with many renowned Italian design companies. Particular highlights are collaborations with Artemide, Zanotta, Antonio Lupi, Penta, Oluce, Nemo and Cappellini.

Today, he is a worldwide active, versatile designer. In addition to his offices in Carimate and Milan, he has branch offices in Lugano, in Sao Paulo, Abu Dhabi and Beijing. From these places, he curates exhibitions, designs marketing strategies for companies, creates interior decoration and implements large construction projects. Special attention must be given to the Hong Kong Louvre Gallery and the construction of two towers in the city centre of Abu Dahbi. For his work, Colombo received many prizes. He was elected Designer of the Year for his Carlo Colombo products in Tokyo in 2004. In 2014 and 2015, he was awarded the coveted Red Dot Design Award in the category "Best of the Best". During the same year, he was also honoured with the iF Product Design Award.

In the field of interior design, Carlo Colombo does not only create exquisite furniture for the bathroom, the kitchen and the living room, but also pays attention to lighting. Carlo Colombo's light fixtures are characterized by a particular interaction between functionality and atmosphere. By combining high-quality materials, innovative details and a convenient handling, he creates light fixtures which appeal to the user's senses. Carlo Colombo's lights exude timeless elegance and create a magical light, achieving a sense of well-being for everyone. Particular attention must be given to his lights for Penta, such as the Bag Outdoor floor lamp which impresses with its high size on terraces and gardens. The Glo collection was also created by Carlo Colombo for Penta. Glo radiates pure elegance and value through its shiny glass shades.

Photograph: Caio Esteves Ribas

Carlo Colombo

Carlo Colombo

Carlo Colombo wurde 1967 im italienischen Carimate bei Como geboren. Nach dem Abschluss seines Architektur-Studiums an der Politecnico in Mailand im Jahr 1993 gründete er sein eigenes Studio in seinem Heimatort und begann, mit zahlreichen der renommiertesten Designfirmen Italiens zusammenzuarbeiten. Besonders hervorzuheben sind beispielsweise die Kooperationen mit Artemide, Zanotta, Antonio Lupi, Penta, Oluce, Nemo oder Cappellini.

Inzwischen ist der vielseitige Designer auf der ganzen Welt aktiv. Neben seinen Büros in Carimate und Mailand unterhält er weitere Zweigstellen im schweizerischen Lugano, in São Paulo, Abu Dhabi und Peking. Von dort aus betreut er Ausstellungen, entwirft Marketing-Strategien für Firmen, gestaltet Inneneinrichtungen und verwirklicht große Bauprojekte. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit gebührt hier der Hong Kong Louvre Gallery sowie dem Bau von zwei Türmen im Zentrum von Abu Dhabi. Für seine Arbeit erhielt Colombo zahlreiche Preise. Im Jahr 2004 war er in Tokio bereits für seine Carlo-Colombo-Produkte als Designer des Jahres ausgezeichnet worden. 2014 und 2015 konnte er den begehrtenRed Dot Design Award in der Kategorie "Best of the Best" entgegennehmen. In den selben Jahren wurde er außerdem mit dem iF Product Design Award geehrt.

Im Bereich des Interieurs entwirft Carlo Colombo nicht nur exquisite Bad-, Küchen und Wohnraummöbel, sondern legt auch ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die Lichtgestaltung der Räume. Carlo Colombos Leuchten zeichnen sich durch ein besonderes Zusammenspiel von Funktionalität und Atmosphäre aus. Aus der Kombination von hochwertigen Materialien, innovativen Details und komfortabler Handhabung entstehen Leuchten, die den Nutzer mit allen Sinnen ansprechen. Carlo Colombos Leuchten sind geprägt von zeitloser Eleganz und schaffen Lichträume, in denen Menschen sich wohlfühlen. Besonders hervorzuheben sind seine Leuchten für Penta, wie die Bag Outdoor Stehleuchte, die auf Terrassen oder in Gartenanlagen aufgrund ihrer Größe eine imposante Präsenz hat. Auch die Glo Kollektion designte Carlo Colombo für Penta - Glo strahlt durch ihre glänzenden Glasschirme pure Eleganz und Kostbarkeit aus.

Foto: Caio Esteves Ribas