Aurélien Barbry

Aurélien Barbry

Aurélien Barbry was born in 1969 and graduated with mention at the Ecole Camondo in Paris in 1997. At the beginning of his career, the Frenchman spent some years working together with the famous architect, Jean Nouvel, before opening his own design studio in Copenhagen in 2007. Since then, Aurélien Barbry has been working on diverse projects in the fields of product, furniture and light design. Today Aurélien Barbry owns his own design office in Copenhagen and in New York, and counts famous Scandinavian design companies, such as Le Klint, Norman Copenhagen, Georg Jensen and Menu among his clients.

Aurélien Barbry's creates iconic, simple objects which stylishly decorate and upgrade the interiors. His designs are characterized by a formal simplicity and connect with the user. His design creations are contemporary and elegant, and also surprisingly different.

He designed high-quality cooking utensils, cutlery and tableware for the renowned Danish Georg Jenssen company. For the Le Klint light manufacture, he created the La Cloche light and the Le Caché light collection. These lights are suspensions, floor lamps, table lamps with, concertina-like, hand-folded synthetic diffusers in minimalist, Scandinavian style. Thanks to the 2014 presented Le Caché collection, Aurélien Barbry was nominated for the Scandinavian Design Award 2015.

de
DE

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Aurélien Barbry

Aurélien Barbry

Aurélien Barbry wurde 1969 geboren und schloss 1997 sein Studium an der École Camondo in Paris mit Auszeichnung ab. Beruflich arbeitete der Franzose am Anfang seiner Karriere einige Jahre mit dem berühmten Architekten Jean Nouvel zusammen, bevor er 2007 sein eigenes Designstudio in Kopenhagen gründete. Seitdem wirkte Aurélien Barbry an zahlreichen Projekten in den Bereichen Produkt-, Möbel- und Leuchtendesign mit. Heute hat das Aurélien Barbry Design Studio neben Kopenhagen auch einen Standort in New York und zählt renommierte skandinavische Designfirmen, darunter Le Klint, Norman Copenhagen, Georg Jenssen oder Menu, zu seinen Kunden.

Aurélien Barbrys Bestreben liegt darin, stets ikonische, aber vor allem einfache Objekte zu erschaffen, die die Einrichtung stilvoll schmücken und aufwerten. Seine Designs sind geprägt von einer formalen Einfachheit und sollen stets in einen Dialog mit dem Endverbraucher treten. Von ihm entworfene Einrichtungsgegenstände sind zeitgenössisch und elegant, doch stets überraschend anders.

Hochwertige Küchenutensilien, Besteck und Geschirr entwarf Aurélien Barbry zum Beispiel für die dänische Designmarke Georg Jenssen, während er für die Leuchtenfirma Le Klint die La Cloche Leuchte oder die Le Caché Leuchtenkollektion gestaltete - letztere sind skandinavisch-minimalistische Pendel-, Steh- und Tischleuchten mit handgefalteten Kunststoffdiffusoren in Ziehharmonika-Optik. Für die 2014 entstandene Le Caché-Kollektion wurde Barbry 2015 für einen skandinavischen Design-Award nominiert.