en
EN

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Alexander Taylor

Alexander Taylor

Alexander Taylor was born in 1975 and founded his own design studio in 2002, where he developed lights and furniture for leading, international brands, such as Established & Sons, ClassiCon and Zanotta.

For Established & Sons, he designed the Fold light made of a single, folded steel sheet in 2005. It makes an efficient and ressource-saving manufacturing process possible. With other designs, Taylor uses reduction for the benefit of the environment and sustainability. He developed the PrimeKnit sports footwear, the upper part of which is an entirely woven single part, while it was usually composed of many, small pieces elaborately put together. Its minimalism is not only aesthetic, but also applied to transportation and production. Today, Alexander Taylor works as a design and innovation consultant for Adidas.

Taylor has been awarded many design prizes, for example the Good Design Award, for his aesthetic and functional furniture and design lights. The trailblazing Fold table lamp is displayed in the Museum of Modern Art's design collections in New York and in the Chicago Institute of Design since 2006.

Photo: Alexander Taylor Studio

Alexander Taylor

Alexander Taylor

Alexander Taylor wurde 1975 geboren und gründete 2002 sein eigenes Designstudio, mit dem er Leuchten und Möbel für führende internationale Marken entwickelte, darunter Established & Sons, ClassiCon und Zanotta.

Für Established & Sons schuf er 2005 die Leuchte Fold, die aus einem einzigen Stück Stahlblech gefaltet wird und auf diese Weise eine effiziente und ressourcenschonende Herstellungsweise möglich macht. Auch mit anderen Entwürfen stellt Taylor den Gedanken der Reduktion in den Dienst von Umweltschutz und Nachhaltigkeit. Für Adidas entwickelte er beispielsweise den PrimeKnit Sportschuh, dessen Oberteil in einem Stück komplett gewebt wird, anstatt wie sonst üblich aus zahlreichen kleinen Teilen aufwendig zusammengesetzt werden zu müssen – Minimalismus nicht nur im ästhetischen Sinne, sondern auch bezüglich Transportwege und Produktion. Heute arbeitet Alexander Taylor unter anderem als Design- und Innovationsberater für Adidas.

Für seine ästhetisch und funktional überzeugenden Möbel und Designleuchten wurde Taylor schon mehrfach mit Designpreisen ausgezeichnet, zum Beispiel mit dem Good Design Award. Die wegweisende Tischleuchte Fold wurde 2006 in die Designsammlungen des New Yorker Museum of Modern Art sowie des Chicago Institute of Design aufgenommen.

Foto: Alexander Taylor Studio