en
EN

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Anglepoise Lights & Lamps

Anglepoise

The lamps of the Anglepoise brand are considered icons of British design and enjoy worldwide popularity.

Anglepoise's history began in the early 1930s, when the industrial designer George Carwardine developed a task light that was flexibly adjustable and stable in any position thanks to a novel tension spring system. Carwardine had his innovative design patented. It was the very first desk light to use a tension spring system.

The portmanteau "Anglepoise" refers to the lamp's ability to keep its balance in any position.

Carwardine bought the necessary springs from the company Herbert Terry & Sons, who took a liking to the design and soon started a licensed production of the desk lights. While the first model was intended as an industrial work lamp, the first lamp for private use, Model 1227, followed soon after in 1935. Since then, the Anglepoise portfolio has been continuously growing with new designs and variations. Since every lamp stays true to the sense of aesthetics and the commitment to functionality of the original design, Anglepoise is a brand with its very own, unique character and great recognizability.

The tension spring system was so successful that is has been copied many times, and had a strong and lasting influence on the design of task lights and desk lamps as a whole.

Anglepoise is still a family business today. Since 2001, the brand has been headed by John and Simon Terry, who moved the company from Redditch to Portsmouth and turned it into a modern, internationally operating brand. Thanks to collaborations with leading contemporary British designers, such as Paul Smith, Margaret Howell and Kenneth Grange, the design portfolio of Anglepoise has gained even more iconic designs.

de
DE

LIEFERLAND UND STEUERSATZ

Anglepoise Leuchten & Lampen

Anglepoise

Die Leuchten der Marke Anglepoise gelten als Ikonen des britischen Designs und erfreuen sich weltweit größter Beliebtheit.

Die Geschichte von Anglepoise begann Anfang der 1930er Jahre, als der Industriedesigner George Carwardine eine Arbeitsleuchte entwickelte, die dank eines ausgeklügelten, damals neuartigen Zugfeder-Systems flexibel verstellbar und in jeder Position stabil war. Carwardine ließ sich das innovative Design patentieren. Es handelte sich um die erste Federzug-Schreibtischleuchte überhaupt.

Der Name „Anglepoise“ setzt sich aus den Worten „Winkel“ und „Haltung“ oder „Gleichgewicht“ zusammen, in Anlehnung an die Fähigkeit der Leuchte, jede Position sicher halten zu können.

Die notwendigen Sprungfedern bezog Carwardine über das Unternehmen Herbert Terry & Sons, das Gefallen an dem Design fand und die Leuchten bald in Lizenz herstellte. Während das erste Modell noch eine industrielle Arbeitsleuchte war, entwickelte man bereits 1935 mit „Model 1227“ eine Leuchte für den Gebrauch im privaten Wohnbereich. Seitdem wird das Anglepoise-Sortiment stetig um neue Designs und Varianten ergänzt. Sie alle aber wahren die ästhetische und funktionale Nähe zum Original und machen Anglepoise somit zu einer Marke mit eindeutigem Charakter und hohem Wiedererkennungswert.

Das Federzugsystem war so erfolgreich, dass es auch viele Nachahmer fand – und das Design von Schreibtischleuchten nachhaltig prägte.

Anglepoise wird auch heute noch als Familienunternehmen geführt. Seit 2001 sind es John und Simon Terry, die das Unternehmen leiten. Unter ihrer Führung wurde die Firma von Redditch nach Portsmouth umgesiedelt und zur international agierenden, modernen Marke umgebaut. Kollaborationen mit wichtigen britischen Designern der Gegenwart, darunter Paul Smith, Margaret Howell und Kenneth Grange, bereichern das Anglepoise-Sortiment um weitere Ikonen.